Library of Congress Literacy Awards

State Literacy Awards

The Library of Congress State Literacy Awards Program recognizes organizations or programs that have made outstanding and innovative contributions to promoting literacy and/or reading in the local community or state. Organizations are nominated by the state affiliates of the Library of Congress Center for the Book. The Library of Congress State Literacy Awards Program is made possible through the generous support of David M. Rubenstein. For questions, contact

The Center for Learning, Literacy and Engagement at the Library of Congress, is pleased to announce the following winners of the State Literacy Awards:

2019 Winning Nominees and Nominating Organizations

  • San Diego Council on Literacy
    Nominated by California Center for the Book
  • Broward County Library
    Nominated by Florida Center for the Book
  • Everybody wins! Iowa
    Nominated by Iowa Center for the Book
  • Beacon Press
    Nominated by Massachusetts Center for the Book
  • Authors in April Inc./Rochester Hills Public Library
    Nominated by Michigan Center for the Book
  • Waynesboro-Wayne County Library
    Nominated by Mississippi Center for the Book
  • Missoula Writing Collaborative
    Nominated by Montana Center for the Book
  • Women’s Storybook Project of Texas
    Nominated by Texas Center for the Book
  • Portage County Literacy Council
    Nominated by Wisconsin Center for the Book